Licensure for Dietitians/Nutritionists in Delaware
* According to Delaware law, licensure is required for individuals practicing as and/or labeling themselves as Dietitians or Nutritionists in the state of Delaware. The purpose of this requirement is to establish minimum standards of education for professional dietitians/nutritionists. It also allows the public to accurately identify those who meet these minimum standards.
* The Board of Dietetics/Nutrition (as part of the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation) regulates the licensure process for professional dietitians/nutritionists and establishes minimum standards of education, experience and examination for these professionals in accordance with Title 24, Chapter 38 of the Delaware Code.
* Applications for licensure as an LDN are submitted to the Board for review and approval. If the requirements are met, licenses are granted by the Board and must be renewed every 2 years (licenses expire May 31 of every odd-numbered year). For license renewal, a continuing professional education (CPE) requirement of 30 units every 2 years must be met. All continuing education must meet the content requirements of the American Dietetic Association for CPE credit.
* To view the current Delaware Law governing Licensure, please click here:
* For more information, contact the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation:
(Access website to find information on applying for a new license, submit an online renewal application, view fee information, and more).
Phone: (302) 744-4500
Fax: (302) 739-2711
Delaware Division of Professional Regulation
Attn: Board of Dietetics/Nutrition
861 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904